Here’s to the future for the dreams of youth

17 May

Today let’s tackle an idea inspired by Bennet of Your Diabetes May Vary.  Tell us what your Fantasy Diabetes Device would be?  Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc. etc. etc.  The sky is the limit – what would you love to see? Read the rest  here

At first I thought…I’ve got the CGMS and Animas Ping I don’t really need much else. But then, I thought about it a little more. I guess my one wish (out of many) would be if my pump, meter and CGMS were all connected. I’m not exactly asking for closed loop, artificial pancreas grade communication, but there are definitely some communication improvements that could be made.

The first is that I hate calibrating my Dexcom. Sugar check then punch it into the Dex? No, why can’t the meter just send it to the Dex automatically???

Another communication problem. Sometimes I check my sugar, but I’m not ready to bolus just then from the meter remote. What if somehow the meter could send the glucose number to the pump and it could be stored on both the pump and meter (which it already does) for about 10-15  minutes? That way when the time comes around to bolus, I don’t have to think about what my glucose was just a few minutes ago and dial it in, it will already be there.

Seems simple enough, says the art major to the programmer.

Speaking of cool technology… Went to the endo yesterday. Finger stick A1c  (where were you all of my childhood?!) is 7.1 Not my best, but I’m okay with it. I also saw this unit and bunch of a brochures for this bad boy:

SO FREAKING AMAZING.

I Want It All – Queen

4 Responses to “Here’s to the future for the dreams of youth”

  1. Drew May 17, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    These all seem like practical desires. Lets hope posts like this are read by the right people!

  2. Colleen May 17, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    The Ping meter does remember your number, for 15 minutes. If out, I always test before ordering, just in case my order has to be salad only.
    Three days in a row, I’m impressed! :)

  3. Jillian May 18, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Drew, we can only hope!

    Collen, I know about the meter holding the reading, but what I want is for it to get sent to the pump for those 15 minutes as well. I’m not much of a meter remote girl. So, usually I’ll test, get distracted, and then use my pump to bolus. If only that glucose number were stored both places during that window!

  4. Colleen May 18, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    I agree!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

