No Message Could Have Been Any Clearer

1 Nov

Last night I saw Michael Jackson’s This Is It. Before I tell you about the film, I should tell you that I am in no way a huge Michael Jackson fan. Of course I know his most popular songs, the dance moves and the controversy, but who doesn’t? When he passed away this summer I didn’t cry, but I did watch the funeral on television. Basically, I’m that middle of the road Michael Jackson fan, but I never really understood his impact on pop culture until last night.

It all started when I walked into the theater with my mom and sister. I heard a little girl singing P.Y.T. along with the sound system. It caught me off guard, how did she know those lyrics? Because they were Michael’s, it’s that simple.

I don’t know how else to explain this movie, but to say that it was like watching the greatest quilt maker of all time hand-select and stitch every layer of fabric together piece by piece until he felt it was just right. Michael Jackson’s gift became so obvious to me as I watched. He was made for this. He could hear exactly what his band was doing wrong, and tell them how to fix it. He wanted the most out of everyone on his stage. He wanted to entertain his fans. When my mouth wasn’t full of nachos, it was hanging open in awe. If this 50 year old man could make magic in rehearsals where he wasn’t performing with his full voice or dancing, what would these shows have been like? For his eleven dancers, was this not like meeting and working with a god? I can’t think of a single performer today who doesn’t reference Michael Jackson as a major inspiration.

The other thing that struck me was Michael’s personality. Let’s face it, he was odd and this movie doesn’t really hide or highlight that fact. There was a strange innocence in the way that he dealt with the people around him. There was one scene that stood out towards the end, he sat in a directors’ chair eating a lollipop watching the dancers film videos to be used at the concerts. I finally understood the whole Peter Pan thing. I’ve always thought of Michael Jackson as a sort of alien, but I think this movie shows a totally different side. He was just a man who had a troubled life and an amazing gift to share with the world.

If you can, you should try to see this movie during it’s two week release. Try going in with no judgments, you might just come out surprised by your reaction.

I wrote this last night for no reason and realized that no one would ever read it because I’d left this blog here to rot. Well I’m back. I’m unofficially attempting NaBloPoMo. I’ve missed writing. So much has been going on. I’ve got at least a month to get it all written down. Here goes…

3 Responses to “No Message Could Have Been Any Clearer”

  1. Colleen November 1, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    I’m reading!

  2. Jillian November 3, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Thanks Colleen! I can always count on you!

  3. Élise December 14, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

