Back down, cash out, that’s the city for ya.

25 Jun

I flew solo as a waitress this past weekend. Unfortunately, I started my first day with drama. I ripped my pump site out as I was running out the door. I would have been on time, but the snag made me 5 minutes late. I was greeted at the restaurant with an “I don’t care ‘sweetie’ 8:45 is 8:45”. Talk about starting out on the wrong foot in so many ways. I was angry because I explained the reasoning and the manager was still unreasonable. I felt so angry. I went to the restroom to take a deep breath and to stop myself from crying. I felt so violated. The manager knows about my Diabetes, I explained, I was only about 5 minutes late. I talked to them on the phone before I got there. I tried my best, and still I was scolded for something that was virtually out of my hands. Overall I’d say I was successful as a server. I made about $100 in tips and I never had more than 5 tables to take care of. The next day I got into a little tiff with the manager because I was trying to admit a mistake and she said to me, “If you would just listen you would learn.” If she had just listened to me she would have heard that I had ‘learned’ and I was trying to let her know! So frustrating. Letting the weekend sink in over this past week led me to a single conclusion. I cannot work at this restaurant. It’s clearly not good for my physical health since managing my Diabetes doesn’t seem to fit in there. I’ve seen a 40-point spike in my averages since starting the job. My health is worth more than tips on a table. Emotionally, I just can’t be verbally abused or watch as the manager does that to other people. I don’t want to be an accomplice to her disrespectful tactics. If I can’t change her, I need to can my situation. I do not need to me this stressed. I shouldn’t be crying about how much I hate this place. I shouldn’t be withdrawn from my friends, family, and school. I’ll be working my last shift this evening, and quitting Saturday afternoon. I feel at peace with this decision. I have weighed it out. It is just not in my nature to accept this kind of situation, and I only wish that I could help my coworkers who will be stuck at the restaurant.

My next post will be full of good news.

One Response to “Back down, cash out, that’s the city for ya.”

  1. Élise Randall July 3, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Love the new layout! I’m so proud of you for making such a mature decision. I hope that I have the guts to do something like that, should the situation ever arise. You definitely need to write a post about the good news you just got.

Leave a Reply

