Someday I’ll be so damn much more

6 Jul

Picking up where I left off…

On Saturday, June 26 I quit my first job. It wasn’t a difficult decision. Honestly the thought had been brewing in my mind since my first day. There were too many signs that it wasn’t the job for me. I worked my last shift (12 flippin’ hours) and came in the next day to quit. I had hoped it would be a more, I don’t know… intimate experience? Well no. I walked in asked the manager if I could speak to her, she walked 2 steps from the register asked what I needed and when I told her all she had to say was, “well good luck”.  Then she proceeded to grab the server schedule and scratched my name out. I walked out feeling, a little deflated but better off. While I admit I probably should have given 2 weeks notice, I knew that I wouldn’t last another two weeks there. I was honest, but I didn’t bash her management style. I was gracious and thanked her for the opportunity. I don’t feel bad about it; I just wish it had gone a little differently. Thankfully karma, fate, or whatever must be on my side because the day I made the decision to quit was also the day I got some of the best news I’ve ever gotten.

I got into the Honors Academy at my school! This means a full tuition scholarship for the 2010-2011 school year. It doesn’t cover books, but I can figure that out. If that doesn’t scream it’s okay to quit, I don’t know what does. My best friend got the same scholarship, too. I really have her to thank for this. Without her, I wouldn’t be where I am today in terms of school. We got into this whole community college thing together, and even in its roughest moments we’ve made it through together. I was at work when she texted me her good news.

When I got off I called my house to ask if there was any mail for me. The response? A big envelope. I cried the entire way home. Opening the letter and reading it after a hellish day at the restaurant somehow made it mean more. I’ve had a rough few years. I threw myself into school this year, something I wasn’t sure I could do and it paid off. I’m not ashamed to say that I’m proud of myself. It may not have been the path I wanted, the traditional route, but I’m here and I’m doing well.

Now it’s all about what’s next. Finding another part time job. Picking a major. Continuing to grow.

4 Responses to “Someday I’ll be so damn much more”

  1. Karen July 6, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Good for you!!! It does certainly sound like the universe was telling you it was time to say good-bye to that job. I’m glad things are looking up. The journey may not be the one you had in mind, but as long as you reach your destination it will all be worth it!!

  2. Kathy July 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Believe me when I say it’s just a job–10 years from now it won’t even register in your thoughts. School is so much more important in the long run. I’m glad for you! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I got a brand new attitude * « All Ways Jillian - December 30, 2010

    […] You can read about the moment here. […]

  2. 2010 in review « All Ways Jillian - January 2, 2011

    […] Someday I’ll be so damn much more July 2010 2 comments 5 […]

Leave a Reply

