This won’t hurt more than a pinch

28 Jul

I need to commit myself to blogging again. Even if no one is reading, it’s good for me. It’s just nice to have a log of my day to day. The ups and downs of my silly little life. I also have things I want and need to say. It’s strange, I think in posts sometimes. I witness something or take part in something, and think about how I could write about it. I just need to follow through.

Quick Update:

  • When I last blogged I was headed off to a girls weekend in NYC. It wasn’t quite the trip from hell, but I didn’t have as much fun as I would have liked. Maybe at some point I’ll post an edited version of an email I sent to a friend who couldn’t join us on the trip. It took me almost a week to recover from the stressful time in NYC.
  • I had my Dexcom training on Friday, July 23. For some reason the trainer was shocked that I actually read the manual and watched the training video. Isn’t that what you are supposed to do? Each time I’ve had some sort of D related training the trainers are always amazed that I actually did my “homework”. Anyway to the point. I’m still working out how I feel about this new addition. I definitely feel part cyborg, and I’m not sure if that’s good or bad. The stupid transmitter is already falling off and I have 3 days to go. My cell phone has been banished to my purse so Sexy Dexy can sit in my spare, pumpless pocket. Yeah, Sexy Dexy. The Dex has done it’s job keeping me aware of plummeting blood sugars, but it also annoys the crap out of me. I can see how people start yell at these things or choosing not to wear them. It also really sucks to see your blood sugar skyrocket. The Dexcom is just there to shove it in your face while you frantically try anything to make your numbers come down. I have already been able to spot one trend that I was aware of without the Dex, early morning lows. Now I can see just when the numbers start nose diving and I used a temporary rate last night to wake up to these lovely results:I’ve already changed my basal rate to see if I can get a repeat performance. Hopefully this is one blood sugar problem crossed off the list. That is until school starts again. Then I’ll have a whole other set of blood sugar issues to do contend with.
5 Responses to “This won’t hurt more than a pinch”

  1. colleen July 28, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I’m reading so keep writing. 🙂

  2. Lorraine July 28, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Those are lovely results to wake to!

  3. Cara July 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    I may not read as regularly as I should. But I do read. 🙂 As for Dexcom…I can relate. I have CGMS from MiniMed and sometimes as much as I love it, it drives me crazy. :/

  4. snackrifices July 30, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    I’m back to the blogging world, and I’m picking up reading again. So write! 🙂 I’ve thought about the dex, but I’ve got so much junk I have to remember between my normal people stuff, my diabetes stuff, and all the detritus that comes with a baby, I’m afraid I’d lose it. Ya know, cause it’s not actually connected to my person. lol

  5. Norm July 31, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Jillian, thanks for sharing some of your experiences with the Dex. A friend of mine is currently being considered for it and I know he’ll be interested to read your impressions.

Leave a Reply

