I can’t believe what you said to me

30 Jul

It’s Friday! Friday means so much less in the summer. Every day is Friday if you are lucky/unlucky enough to be jobless. I’m constantly wondering, “What day is today?” It’s kind of strange.

There is something I want to write about, but I don’t really know if I can. You see I’m involved, but the story isn’t all mine. I can’t talk about my feelings without revealing the feelings and opinions of the other person involved. I would love to be able to write about it, I think it would help me gather my thoughts. Without saying too much here’s what I have:

As children we form simple friendships. We share a learning environment, play schoolyard games, have crushes on boys, and talk for hours on the phone about our favorite things on TV. We grow up. Boys become boyfriends. The circle of friends widens. We drift apart. We come back together. We count on each other for support when things fall apart. We start to learn our differences, the things that make us incompatible. Things that make us question the state of our friendship. How am I friends with this person? We are nothing alike. If I had just met her we probably wouldn’t be friends. But we’ve been friends for what seems like forever, half of our lives. So, we hold on to the friendship founded on elementary school playground games and music class sing-a-longs while navigating the tough waters of becoming adult friends…I know the rough seas will be a learning experience no matter where the ‘ship docks.

3 Responses to “I can’t believe what you said to me”

  1. Michael Hoskins July 31, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Jillian: Without giving away too much, you raise an interesting topic and write philosophically about it so well. You’re right – in a way it’s just hanging on to the memories of what we once were, in another it’s recognition that our lives our short and we should embrace all parts of it. We grow and evolve, but in a sense we never change some of those basic foundations of ourselves and it’s important to reach out and embrace those in some way. As much or as little as might be possible, with those incompatibilities existing. Good luck on your end with that other person.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review « All Ways Jillian - January 2, 2011

    […] I can’t believe what you said to me July 2010 1 comment […]

  2. Let’s talk about life. Let’s talk about it twice. « All Ways Jillian - January 14, 2011

    […] reworking a friendship. It’s been rough. Words have flown from places I never could have imagined. The waters seem […]

Leave a Reply

