I hope for more love, more joy, and laughter #NoDday

7 Oct

Where was I? I’m resorting to a bullet point update.

  • I survived my dramatic birthday meltdown. 19 is okay. I think I can handle this last teenage year. I do not like growing up though. It’s hard. It’s a little confusing. More on that another day.
  • My grandma is back home. She spent a week or so in the hospital. It was a tough time. I felt terrible when I talked to her on the phone. She asked me if I would be coming with my mom to take care of her and my grandpa. I told her that I couldn’t because of school. She said she understood saying that school was more important. In that moment I could not have disagreed more.
  • Speaking of school. I dropped a class (Biology), but I picked up a major…
  • I’m committed. You can’t win unless you try. So, I’m going for it. I’ve been trying to say it out loud so that I can’t back out. It’s working so far. What better place to out yourself than a blog post?
    Jillian, what’s your intended major?
    VISUAL ARTS! WHOOO!
  • I’m a little scared about telling the other members of my school’s Honors Academy (the scholarship program that’s paying for this dream). Let’s just say they are ALL the future doctors, engineers, and accountants of America. Then there’s little artsy me…whatever.
  • I need to write here more. I keep promising myself that I will.
  • If there’s anything you’d like to hear about, let me know!
4 Responses to “I hope for more love, more joy, and laughter #NoDday”

  1. George October 7, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Great stuff! I love getting to know you more. So cool!!!

  2. colleen October 7, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Great major! You’ll be awesome.
    Hope your grandmother continues to feel better.

  3. Lee Ann Thill October 8, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    I fully endorse visual arts! Although speaking from firsthand experience, I was happy to pursue a career in art therapy for my graduate degree because my undergrad degree in painting/drawing and ceramics limited my options. I’m grateful to have them in my back-pocket now though because since I have my art therapy career, I can now pursue art-making for pleasure, instead of worrying about doing it to keep my electricity on. If you have a penchant for art-making though, definitely find a way to make it work for you because it’s gift that shouldn’t be wasted 🙂

  4. Jillian October 8, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Thanks for the feedback Lee Ann! It’s funny that you mention extending the major into art therapy because I have a friend who is pursuing that route. I’m leaning more towards a concentration in graphic design or photography, so I’m not quite sure that art therapy fits my skill set. Only time will tell 🙂

Leave a Reply

