I’m taking a chance, this could be different*

21 Dec

Let’s start from the beginning. Reverb 10, Day 1, Decemeber 1, 2010 aka TODAY!

One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

My automatic thought for this year was Chance, but I’m not quite sure if that’s the perfect word. I think I deserve a little more credit for where this year has led me. I think it’s something more like Acceptance.

I’ve had more rough years than I can count, but I think that 2010 was a turning point. I stepped off a ledge, and I didn’t drown in the swirling ocean. In January, I started my second semester of college and worked my ass off for a 4.0 GPA. I took a class that changed my life. I’ve met people who inspire me. I applied for a scholarship that I never thought I would get, but I did. It feels great to be accepted. I got a job and I quit it out of principle. I’ve learned to love my friends, in spite of their flaws. I’m still learning to let go of some of them. I’ve faced financial stress. I’ve challenged the norm in a room full of future doctors and accountants by choosing art. I’ve struggled. 2010 was no where near perfect. Because I’ve had the chance to stare myself in the face and really accept who I am, everything has been much easier. By accepting myself and my circumstances, it has been easier to face the everyday challenges. If you aren’t even on your own side, how can you expect anyone else to be? Acceptance was my first step.

For 2011 I would like my word to be Satisfied.

I’ve got a lot of goals to achieve, and I would like to know that I’ve made the right choices. I would like to see myself continue on a positive path. No matter where life leads me over the 365 days of 2011, I just want them to be fulfilled days.

*Different – Acceptance (See what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

