Love ain’t got no color*

22 Dec

I’m currently working on 3 college application essays. You never realize how difficult it is to sum yourself up within the context of a single question and a word count until you are faced with the challenge.

One of the essays I’m writing is about something I value and what experiences have led me to value it. I’ve decided to write about diversity. Not only do I come from a biracial family, but I’m lucky enough to have more friends from foreign countries than American friends. I love culture and the learning experiences I’ve been afforded because I’m surrounded by people who are different from myself. I also really want to incorporate a story about September 11th, that year my teacher was Muslim. So, I had a completely different experience from most kids during that generation shaping time.

Another essay is about my future. How I would use what I learn at this school to go forward sort of thing.  The only problem is I don’t exactly want to go to this school. They don’t even have the major I want, although they have a similar alternative. It’s just that it’s so conveniently located (I could live at home) and I have a better chance at scholarship money. So I have to apply. I have to find a way to turn “I’m not sure” into three pages of that sound like a plan for my future.

I got to skip this process when most of my friends were going through it in high school. I was the person they sent essays to for editing. Now it’s my turn, and I’m worried that I won’t be able to put myself on paper in just the right way. I also have to send my essays in for editing by my honors advisor. There is nothing I hate more than people messing with what I’ve written. I don’t like when someone tries to change my voice. Hopefully it will all work out. I think I’ll post the final drafts here after the whole process is over.

*It Don’t Make Any Difference To Me – Kevin Michael f. Wyclef Jean

2 Responses to “Love ain’t got no color*”

  1. colleen December 22, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    You can do it. You’re smart, you have personality, you can write.
    I have total faith in you.
    Merry Christmas!
    Hugs…

  2. Jillian December 23, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Thanks Colleen! Merry Christmas to you!

Leave a Reply

