I’m just beginning the pen’s in my hand. Ending unplanned.*

29 Dec

I’m going to do all of these! Even if it takes me until the end of 2011.

December 2 – Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

Narrowing it down to one thing is pretty difficult. I think the one thing I do most is over think the whole process. I write these posts in my head, bookmark websites I think will make for great inspiration, write notes on my iPod, but some how I can’t get it all together into consistent writing. I’ve talked about the privacy concerns before and I think that also factors in. Another thing is the success of my writing, I think everyone hopes for more feedback and to be noticed. If that doesn’t happen it can often feel like there is no point. Which is so silly because I never started writing to be read. I started writing for myself. So over thinking and second guessing are the problems…

The solution? Remember that this is for me, as selfish as that sounds. Yes, people can read it. But I shouldn’t try to cater to people who comment or those who don’t take the time to. I should write what I want. So what if it’s awful and no one cares about it? I do! So I just have to make the commitment to keep writing and keep improving.

*Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield

One Response to “I’m just beginning the pen’s in my hand. Ending unplanned.*”

  1. colleen December 29, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Yes, you need to write for yourself!
    I like reading what you write. I’m just not so great at commenting.

Leave a Reply

