I’ve outgrown the narrow, protective container

10 Jan

Reverb10

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

After my first glance at this prompt I didn’t think I had an answer or more specifically I didn’t think I ever cultivated wonder this past year. There were far too many moments this past year spent stuck. I was going through the motions at certain times. I was functional and that was about it. But then there were other moments, just about all of the ones I spent in my photography class for instance. I learned something so new. I worked hard. I turned a vision into a shot, into a strip of negatives, into a print, into an award, into love. I cultivated wonder through art. I got a job. I hated it. I learned about myself and the kind of treatment I was unwilling to accept. I hoped for better things in my future, I learned, I cultivated wonder. I believed in myself, I took bigger leaps than I’ve ever taken before. The more I think about it I actually cultivated wonder in every aspect of my life. We are always learning, exploring, hoping, and if we aren’t it’s not living. By simply living each day I cultivate wonder.

 

Untamed – Gavin Degraw

Leave a Reply

