Let’s talk about life. Let’s talk about it twice.

14 Jan

Things change and I’m totally okay with that. That hasn’t always been the case. Extremely resistant to change, pretty much explains how I used to be. The first sign of difference that wasn’t on my terms, and it was time to go. Today it’s more like cautious but flexible.

Things are changing.

I’m reworking a friendship. It’s been rough. Words have flown from places I never could have imagined. The waters seem calm now, but there are definitely storms ahead. This is growing up, and it’s harder than I would have ever thought it could be.

There is someone new in my life, but I’m not sure how to explain it. Just friends, I guess. Several reasons why it has to stay that way, including but not limited to the fact that I could totally be reading into it too much. I’m okay with it. It’s been nice having this new kind of friendship. I just don’t want to become one of those awful girls who falls (hate that term) for a totally and completely unavailable person. It’s kind of like throwing yourself in front of a bus, everyone gets hurt. To be honest, I’ve always thought I was immune to boys and their mysterious ways. I guess not.

I submitted my first transfer application last night. I felt sick afterwards. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted something so badly. It’s my first choice school. Crossing my fingers. I need this. I think I’ll share my essay here after I find out the news…February/March where are you??!
I still have to submit one to my second choice school. I can’t bank on my dream just yet. Plus, it’s kind of a requirement of my scholarship to apply to this school. I guess a 3 page essay on an important global issue and how I would use my education to change it won’t be too hard. Diabetes anyone? Diabetes and art…I’m letting it marinate.

I’m back in school. Sort of. It’s just a 6 day winter class. It’s been entertaining and draining. I was just at that point where I was letting myself sleep in, and BAM school! I’ll be back for real in just over week. I’m looking forward to this semester, but I’m also a little worried. I’ll be immersed in my art major requirements for the first time. I’m a little scared that I won’t have the skills required. My other semesters have been academic challenges, this one will be a creative challenge. On top of that I’ve got a portfolio to build for a separate major specific application to the first choice school. Only time will tell.

 

Believe – A Cursive Memory

Leave a Reply

