You’ll know when to take all the right chances*

25 Jan

I’m back at school. So far so good. Today will be the test. My Tuesdays and Thursdays are very long, I’m used to having afternoons to myself. Now the time that would be for Oprah (yeah I’m a fan, I should have gone with her to Australia!!!) will be spent in an art history class. At least it’s a subject I’m interested in. I’m excited for this semester. I think I made the right decision to go with art. Earlier this year my grandmother told me that money means nothing if what you’re doing isn’t what you love. The same could be said for school. I could be pursuing any number of things, but none of them would make me enjoy going to school each day. This semester is not so much an academic challenge, but a creative one. It’s all so new. Can a chronic doodler learn how to draw? Can I go from film to digital (with editing) photography? Can I handle the critiques? This is the biggest step outside of my box I’ve taken since the waitressing job, and this one means so much more. I’m excited, I’m scared, but I don’t think I’ve ever felt more ready. Hopefully I’ll still have this feeling in a few weeks, and by the end of the semester.

This is my last semester at my community college. As much as I appreciate the opportunities I’ve received there, I’ll be happy to leave. It was my stepping stone, but I’m ready to move on. I’ve already submitted one application, but I’m dragging my feet on the last one. I don’t want to go this school. It’s not the right place, and I know that more than ever. I just hope things work out with my first choice. I hate waiting. I guess it’s true…time will only tell.

 

*One More Weekend – The Academy Is…

One Response to “You’ll know when to take all the right chances*”

  1. colleen January 25, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I think an afternoon art history class sounds delightful.
    Wishing you lots of great grades this last semester!

Leave a Reply

