Would I be able to and would I be afraid?

20 Apr

I don’t know if I should be writing about this on the internet, but I need to get it out. I could try to be vague, but I don’t think it will work out. Here it is.

Let’s just say that there is an event coming up. You’ve known about it for a while. You have to participate in this event by speaking in front of a large crowd. You have made the other members of the presentation aware of your public speaking fears and even the administrators who are leading the event. Or so you think. Maybe you weren’t forceful enough. Maybe they thought you were kidding. Maybe they didn’t actually read the essay you wrote to get a scholarship they are in charge of that was ALL about ANXIETY. Maybe just maybe…

Now, let’s say someone who is your superior sends you a script after all of the above. And you have the second longest speaking part. In a panic you send an email voicing your concerns. The response is simply “that’s news to me”. NO it is NOT! And then when this person edits the script to give you two short sentences she sends you a separate email telling you that ‘late notice is hard to work with and you should keep this in mind for the future’. I just replied with a thank you and I’ll keep that in mind.

I’ve got a month left. A week until this event. I can ride this out, but I know I’m not wrong. I know I voiced my concerns early. It isn’t my fault that I wasn’t heard. I know what I said. I don’t want to be upset. But I can’t help but be. I think it’s unprofessional to say you are an advisor and then treat someone the way I was just treated. Maybe just maybe…

It’s All Your Fault – Pink

Leave a Reply

