And nevermind if nothing makes sense ’cause it all works out in the end

23 Jun

I thought I was back in the swing of things. I was on a bit of a blogging streak. Honestly I have all the time in the world to sit and write. I don’t have a job to get up for every day or school. Honestly, not that jobs are just raining from the sky but I don’t see how finding a job at this point in the summer will even work out because I’ll quit it in the middle of August for school. I don’t think I can work while I’m in school full time, unless it’s one on campus. I know myself too well for that. I don’t want to take on too much in a time of transition.

Speaking of transition. I went to my orientation for the 4-year school yesterday. Registered for my classes. Learned the victory song. Got some campus swag and my photo ID. This school doesn’t feel like home. Just when I started to feel comfortable and make friends at community college, it all ended. I’m sure that with time, Scholarship University will be home too. It’s a big difference going from 10 people in a class to lecture halls of 100s. It’s also not nearly as diverse, which is something I’m just going to have to get used to.

I started this post thinking I would write about how I don’t want to write any more. How I miss the connection of the community that I feel has been lost for me, but also strengthened among some of the more prominent bloggers. How our community has become something it just wasn’t when I started. It’s a job for many of you. How nice for your life to be your job, but also how awful. I had an opportunity a few summers back to jump into the paid blogging world, and I turned it down. I often wonder if that was the right choice. The DOC in particular has moved in such an interesting direction, and while I still feel like it will always be my home base I can’t identify with the social media and sponsorship etc that has come to be common place. I don’t know what I’m saying really, it’s just an observation. I miss the old days. That seems to be a theme in my life lately.

But as much as I miss the old, I’m cautiously excited for the new. I just wish a few things would fall into place or work themselves out.

 

Sooner or Later – Michael Tolcher

2 Responses to “And nevermind if nothing makes sense ’cause it all works out in the end”

  1. colleen June 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I always enjoy your posts.
    And I always remember how you jumped in to help me when I first blogged.
    Changing schools is always tough but I know you’ll find your place there.
    And I don’t think I’ve EVER used the word always in three consecutive sentences. Oh well.

  2. Jillian June 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Colleen, I always always always ALWAYS enjoy your comments! Thanks for sticking with me.

Leave a Reply

