This cycle never ends. Gotta fall in order to mend.

13 Dec

Whoaaaaa. I can’t believe I left that last post up for so long. Sorry for that… if anyone is even still reading this.

The fall semester is over for all intents and purposes. I just have 3 final exams over the next week. I can’t believe I made it. There were points where I hit lows I didn’t feel I could recover from. So much changed from my community college life to the 4 year school I’m currently attending. It’s been difficult. I miss the closeness, the “community” of it all. One thing I’ve discovered this semester is a certain skill with 3-D art… I thought my final piece in particular would be of interest to the DOC.

 

It’s a body extension sculpture. Basically, I created a hood from insulin pump tubing, insulin bottles, and cartridges. The hood restricted the movement of my arms and required some balance to keep steady; restriction of diabetes. The supplies surround my head as a symbol for the way diabetes is always on my mind and impacts my decision making. I even left one tube hanging and connected it to my pump site during the presentation. It was a great success. A lot of the feedback included how delicate I was able to make the materials seem and the contrast between that and the harshness of the medical condition. One of my classmates even said something to the effect of “it’s so pretty, but it kind of freaks me out”. Mission accomplished.

 

I’ll be back over break. I’m hopping back into this blogging game. Happy Holidays!

 

Brand New Day – Joshua Radin

2 Responses to “This cycle never ends. Gotta fall in order to mend.”

  1. Colleen December 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    I always read your posts. But I’m annoying…
    Enjoy the break!

  2. Jillian December 14, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Never annoying! Always brightens my day to get feedback from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

