Know I’m getting nowhere when I only sit and stare…

3 Jan

I’m not one for resolutions. I’ve made them and never succeeded. How about new a new attitude and ideas for the new year? Seems like a better spin. Here’s my list so far:

  • Cook. Not only will this be a great way to contribute to the family it will also help me with the goal of trying new food!
  • Save money. I want to get into couponing. It just seems like the most ridiculous, yet fun thing EVER.
  • Take advantage of the city. People come on vacation to DC, and it’s literally been a short trip from my house my entire life. I had a few projects this semester that required going to some of the museums downtown, and I just kept thinking “why don’t I do this more?!”
  • Be my own advocate. If there is something I want to do, I can make it happen.
  • Volunteer. It feels great to help other people, usually I stick to people I know but strangers need it just as much, if not more.
  • Be creative. How can I be an art major who only makes the “art” required for class? This also includes writing here.
  • Say Yes. Whether it’s saying yes to things I want to stand by, yes to an invitation, yes to a new experience. It sounds better than my favorite word: NO.
  • Be a better friend. I’m famous for disappearing from people’s lives. I just figure they are too busy, and I’m generally content on my own. If I want to spend time with someone, I should just ask. The worst that can happen is they turn me down.
  • Take breaks. Alone time is crucial.
  • Be weird. I don’t need to button up my personality.
  • Speak my mind. Because those who matter don’t mind, and those that mind don’t matter (Dr. Seuss)

Let’s see how this goes.

 

Uncharted – Sara Bareilles

One Response to “Know I’m getting nowhere when I only sit and stare…”

  1. colleen January 3, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Great list!
    You’re such a wonderful young lady, really!

Leave a Reply

