I never liked this apple much…

5 Jan

Are you familiar with Plinky? It’s a website that offers daily prompts and users can share their answers with each other. I find this to be a great resource for writing inspiration. Today’s prompt: “Name your favorite street food.”

When I first read that I thought to myself, “I don’t think I’ve ever had street food other than a hot or soft pretzel.” Then I remembered a trip to NYC 2 summers ago. I had a great gyro platter at a street fair right outside my friend’s apartment. Probably one of the better memories of that trip. So I guess, middle eastern/kabob etc, is my favorite type of street food. It’s kind of funny because I’m a super picky eater, but I love the idea of street food, pop up restaurants, food trucks. It’s all so new and hip, kind of like the cupcake craze only better. Living near a big city means that this type of food is readily available, I should take advantage of it.

The more I think about it, this prompt ties into one of my current obsessions, how perfect. I was introduced to the concept of food trucks etc on an episode of Oprah (weekdays at 4PM still aren’t the same), but I came to really fall in love with it after watching Ludo Bites America. The show is amazing, and also quite funny because the dynamic between Chef Ludo and his wife, Krissy (she replied to me twice on Twitter!) is great. He’s a wild French man and she is his cool, calm, and collected American wife who deals with the front of the house as they call it in the business.  I’m sure I’ll be over this in a few months, or maybe not.

Also, I’m cooking for the family. The first dish: Chicken Parmigiana was a total success. Tonight: Pulled Pork. Just call me Chef Jillian.

City Love – John Mayer

Leave a Reply

