I caved…

15 May

Okay I signed up. I’ll probably fail, but I can’t miss the opportunity to join this wonderful celebration of all things D. So here’s today’s topic: One Great Thing

Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

What’s my one great thing? If I’m not prepared, I’m always ready to improvise. I can only think of 4 times when I haven’t had exactly what I needed to handle a diabetes situation and even then I always found a way to make it work.

Dead pump battery? Pulled one out of a calculator. Another time, ran to the school book store and paid a regrettable sum for regular alkaline double A’s. I’m a lithium girl, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

Insulin is running low in my pump and I forgot to replace the vial that I fill cartridges from which is basically empty. Turn the basal down and draw up a syringe from dregs of the insulin bottle.

Flooded infusion site and the only spare I had was one I used to show people how they worked. Well, I popped it in because I didn’t have much of choice being 30 minutes from home in the middle of a school day and having class until 5 PM.

All of these instances have taught me. I know to always have extra everything. Two spare infusion sites, two bottles of strips, emergency glucose tabs, a syringe, batteries in my backpack, my kit and my purse. A car emergency box. It even goes beyond typical diabetes stuff. I’m the person to ask for a bandaid, antibiotic ointment, pain reliever, hand sanitizer, two pairs of scissors in art class. You name it, I probably have something that can solve your problem. I have friends that call me “boy scout mom” because I’m always prepared. It’s a diabetes thing.

One Response to “I caved…”

  1. Colleen May 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I’m still learning to be prepared.
    I’m so glad you joined in the fun!

Leave a Reply

