The hips…they don’t lie.

16 May

One Thing to Improve – Wednesday 5/16 Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at.  Today let’s look at the flip-side.  We probably all have one thing we could try to do better.  Why not make today the day we start working on it.  No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

So here it is. My confession.

I’m terrible with site rotation. I’m a creature of habit. I only use my hips, above the belt line 3 days left, 3 days right and back again. Nothing else is comfortable. Arms burn, never had a leg site that didn’t bleed or rip out. Below the belt is out of the question because I always become super paranoid about the sites ripping out and they usually do. Comfortable real estate is limited and I always wear my Dexcom sensor. Lately, I’ve noticed my sites are dying at a rapid pace. I used to be able to go beyond day 3 without a second thought. Now by day two my numbers go a little wonky. I’ve had more leaky sites in the past few months than I’ve had in my 4 years (HOLY CRAP) of pumping. I know what I need to do. Be brave, take a little arm burning or wear dresses three days straight for a leg site.  Give my hips a break, so they can continue to serve me. I guess I’ll take the plunge…literally and switch it up.

Hips Don’t Lie – Shakira

One Response to “The hips…they don’t lie.”

  1. Colleen May 16, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Yup, time for the switch.
    Two posts in two days. Love it!

Leave a Reply

